Citizenship of the Year Award - Village Improvement Association of Rehoboth Beach

About VIA > Citizenship of the Year Award

Citizenship of the Year Award

Citizenship of the Year Award Nominations Requested from Community


The Village Improvement Association (VIA), a non-profit charitable organization,  announced in 2009 that they would be annually soliciting nominations for the Village Improvement Association Citizenship Award.  This award was inaugurated during the VIA Centennial Celebration held in 2009.  The first honoree was Nancy Martin for her tireless work keeping local residents informed of government and community issues. Priscilla Smith received the award in 2010, Margaret Stortz in 2011, Roxanne Nelson in 2012, Joanne DeFiore in 2013, and Joan Caggiano in 2014. 

The 2015 recipient is Brenda Milbourne.  She serves as the Executive Director of West Rehoboth Children and Youth Program.  In 2002, she co-founded  a childrens after school and summer program after seeing a child riding his bike in his pajamas one early morning, realizing he was delivering drugs.

Brenda, Melynda, & Theda--Citizenship 2015

Pictured above:  Brenda Melbourne, this year's recipient; Melynda Peet, past president and chair of Citizenship Committee; and current President Theda Blackwelder
The purpose of the Village Improvement Association Citizenship Award is to honor the VIA founding women who had the foresight to establish an organization of lasting value dedicated to improving life in the Rehoboth Beach area.  The award is open to all women over 18 years of age and living within the Cape Henlopen School District.  She may be a professional or a volunteer who has made an outstanding contribution of lasting value to the community and who personifies the ideals established by our founders.  

Signed nominations with examples of their contributions are submitted in the early part of the year and submitted to the announced Chair of the year.  The committee consists of three past presidents on a rotating basis and presented at the club's annual May luncheon.  Additional questions may be answered by using the "Contact Us" on  our website.