VIA  Wine Tasting!! October 2, 2022

Citizenship of the Year Award


Citizenship of the Year Award


The Village Improvement Association (VIA), a non-profit charitable organization,  announced in 2009 that they would be annually soliciting nominations for the Village Improvement Association Citizenship Award.  This award was inaugurated during the VIA Centennial Celebration held in 2009.  The first honoree was Nancy Martin for her tireless work keeping local residents informed of government and community issues. Priscilla Smith received the award in 2010, Margaret Stortz in 2011, Roxanne Nelson in 2012, Joanne DeFiore in 2013, Joan Caggiano in 2014, Brenda Milbourne in 2015, Marianne Sheran in 2016, and Mabel Granke in 2017. 

The purpose of the Village Improvement Association Citizenship Award is to honor the VIA founding women who had the foresight to establish an organization of lasting value dedicated to improving life in the Rehoboth Beach area.  The award is open to all women over 18 years of age and living within the Cape Henlopen School District.  She may be a professional or a volunteer who has made an outstanding contribution of lasting value to the community and who personifies the ideals established by our founders.  

Signed nominations with examples of their contributions are submitted in the early part of the year and submitted to the announced Chair of the year.  The committee consists of three past presidents on a rotating basis and the award is presented at the club’s annual May luncheon. 

Nominations should be mailed to the Village Improvement Association,  Citizenship of the Year, Box 144, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971